attack/bombard

Topics that are not maps. Discuss general map making concepts, techniques, contests, etc, here.

Moderator: Cartographers

Forum rules
Please read the Community Guidelines before posting.
Post Reply
User avatar
Oneyed
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:29 pm
Gender: Male

attack/bombard

Post by Oneyed »

I am sure on 99%, but it is not possible that one region can attack and also bombard the same target. yes?

Oneyed
User avatar
grifftron
SoC Training Adviser
Posts: 3280
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 6:11 am

Re: attack/bombard

Post by grifftron »

It would be cool if you could hold a certain territory that would kind of turn the attacks into bombarb's or attack's across the entire board, almost like an "on" & "off" button.. it could probably be done with the conditional boarders they have now?
Image
User avatar
grifftron
SoC Training Adviser
Posts: 3280
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 6:11 am

Re: attack/bombard

Post by grifftron »

grifftron wrote:It would be cool if you could hold a certain territory that would kind of turn the a players attacks into bombarb's or a normal attack on the entire board, almost like an "on" & "off" button.. it could probably be done with the conditional boarders they have now?
Image
User avatar
thenobodies80
Posts: 5400
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:30 am
Gender: Male
Location: Milan

Re: attack/bombard

Post by thenobodies80 »

Oneyed wrote:I am sure on 99%, but it is not possible that one region can attack and also bombard the same target. yes?

Oneyed


Why you should bombard a region you could take? :?
No it can't be done.
User avatar
Oneyed
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:29 pm
Gender: Male

Re: attack/bombard

Post by Oneyed »

thanks guys.

Oneyed
User avatar
grifftron
SoC Training Adviser
Posts: 3280
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 6:11 am

Re: attack/bombard

Post by grifftron »

thenobodies80 wrote:
Oneyed wrote:I am sure on 99%, but it is not possible that one region can attack and also bombard the same target. yes?

Oneyed


Why you should bombard a region you could take? :?
No it can't be done.


because with bombarding you don't lose any troops if you can roll better dice. It would be great for those terts that you just don't want and you could have an option to bombard instead of take it... would for sure add more strategy to the game... but if it can't be done... it can't be done.
Image
User avatar
thenobodies80
Posts: 5400
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:30 am
Gender: Male
Location: Milan

Re: attack/bombard

Post by thenobodies80 »

Oneyed wrote:I am sure on 99%, but it is not possible that one region can attack and also bombard the same target. yes?

Oneyed


Finally I have the official answer: in any case, with or without condition, a border tag overrides a bombardment tag.
So you can just assault, the bombardment will be ignored.
User avatar
zimmah
Posts: 1652
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 12:43 pm
Gender: Male
Location: VDLL

Re: attack/bombard

Post by zimmah »

thenobodies80 wrote:
Oneyed wrote:I am sure on 99%, but it is not possible that one region can attack and also bombard the same target. yes?

Oneyed


Finally I have the official answer: in any case, with or without condition, a border tag overrides a bombardment tag.
So you can just assault, the bombardment will be ignored.


but, if you have a conditional border, and you do not hold the condition, can you still bombard from that region?
[bigimg]http://sense4seo.nl/signatures/sig-zimmah.jpg[/bigimg]
User avatar
thenobodies80
Posts: 5400
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:30 am
Gender: Male
Location: Milan

Re: attack/bombard

Post by thenobodies80 »

Ok, hope it helps in this way...

Example1:
<name>A</name>
<borders>
<border>B</border>
</borders>
<bombardments>
<bombardment>B</bombardment>
</bombardments>
...

this is what it can happen:
you hold A --> you can only attack B
Bombardment is always ignored

Example2:
<name>A</name>
<borders>
<border condition="C">B</border>
</borders>
<bombardments>
<bombardment>B</bombardment>
</bombardments>
...

this is what it can happen:
you hold A and C --> you can only attack B
you hold A but not C --> you can only bombard B
User avatar
zimmah
Posts: 1652
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 12:43 pm
Gender: Male
Location: VDLL

Re: attack/bombard

Post by zimmah »

So, that means you can in fact have a region that does bombard if you do not have the 'key' but assaults if you do have the key.

That's pretty neat, probably.
[bigimg]http://sense4seo.nl/signatures/sig-zimmah.jpg[/bigimg]
Post Reply

Return to “Foundry Discussions”