Conquer Club

7 card question.

Talk about all things related to Conquer Club

Moderator: Community Team

Forum rules
Please read the community guidelines before posting.

7 card question.

Postby hecter on Mon May 28, 2007 9:14 pm

If you take somebody out, and you get a total of seven (7) cards, will you always get two potential sets (ie if you play them right, you'll be able to cash in twice)?

It's been my experience that this is true, but as there are people on the forums much smarter than me, I was wondering if they could tell me otherwise.
In heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine... You got your things, and I've got mine.
Image
User avatar
Private 1st Class hecter
 
Posts: 14632
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Tying somebody up on the third floor

Postby AK_iceman on Mon May 28, 2007 9:16 pm

5 reds and 2 greens only = 1 cashin.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class AK_iceman
 
Posts: 5704
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 10:39 pm

Postby hecter on Mon May 28, 2007 9:21 pm

Ah. Perfect. Thank you IC.
In heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine, in heaven... Everything is fine... You got your things, and I've got mine.
Image
User avatar
Private 1st Class hecter
 
Posts: 14632
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:27 pm
Location: Tying somebody up on the third floor

Postby tahitiwahini on Mon May 28, 2007 9:30 pm

8 is the threshold number guaranteeing you will be able to cash in two sets, just as 5 is the threshold number guaranteeing you will be able to cash in one set.

Your odds of having two sets to cash in with 7 cards is the same as your odds of having a single set to cash in with 4 cards; namely 77%.
Cheers,
Tahitiwahini
User avatar
Private 1st Class tahitiwahini
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:26 pm

Postby Velvecarrots on Mon May 28, 2007 10:14 pm

I disagree. I think it is higher than 77%.

If you have 2 blue and 2 green cards, you cannot cash in any sets. But if you have 2 blue, 2 green, and 3 red cards, you can cash in 2 sets, if you cash in correctly (as in 2 mixed sets instead of a red set).

A 5-2-0 distribution of cards is the only distribution that disallows you to cash twice. So if you are getting 7 cards, you should be able to bank on being able to cash twice.
This game was once fun, but the necessity to log in every day finally took its toll on me.

Best Score: 4660 (11/20/10)
Best Rank: 1 (8/2/13)
General Velvecarrots
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:40 pm

Postby wacicha on Mon May 28, 2007 10:16 pm

and you can screw it up by turning in wrong set so you get 1 instead of 2 turn ins

3 red
3 blue
1 green

turn in 1 each =1 set

or turn in 3 red and 3 blue + 2 sets
Image
User avatar
Major wacicha
 
Posts: 3988
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:51 pm

Postby maniacmath17 on Tue May 29, 2007 1:48 pm

much better chance of having 2 sets with 7 than 1 set with 4.

possible combinations of 4 cards that make a set: 4 0 0, 3 1 0, 2 1 1
possible combinations of 4 cards that don't make a set: 2 2 0

so thats 3 out of 4 combinations make 1 set out of 4 cards.

possible combinations of 7 cards that makes 2 sets: 7 0 0, 6 1 0, 4 3 0, 5 1 1, 4 2 1, 3 3 1, 3 2 2.
possible combinations of 7 cards that don't make 2 sets: 5 2 0

and thats 7 out of 8 combinations make 2 sets out of 7 cards

of course some combinations are more likely than others, but this gives you a rough idea of just how more likely it is to have 2 sets with 7 than 1 set with 4.
show: Top Secret


2006-10-25 21:16:00 - NUKE: wtf it says dminus got 2 troops for holding oceania what is that lol
User avatar
Brigadier maniacmath17
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:32 pm

Postby chessplaya on Tue May 29, 2007 4:06 pm

maniacmath17 wrote:much better chance of having 2 sets with 7 than 1 set with 4.

possible combinations of 4 cards that make a set: 4 0 0, 3 1 0, 2 1 1
possible combinations of 4 cards that don't make a set: 2 2 0

so thats 3 out of 4 combinations make 1 set out of 4 cards.

possible combinations of 7 cards that makes 2 sets: 7 0 0, 6 1 0, 4 3 0, 5 1 1, 4 2 1, 3 3 1, 3 2 2.
possible combinations of 7 cards that don't make 2 sets: 5 2 0

and thats 7 out of 8 combinations make 2 sets out of 7 cards

of course some combinations are more likely than others, but this gives you a rough idea of just how more likely it is to have 2 sets with 7 than 1 set with 4.


anybody else that didnt understand anything this guy said?? :oops:

Edit: i just understood that the numbers stands for colors example 7 0 0 , 7 red cards 0 blue 0 green...ok got ur back on this 1 lol
Veni...
Vidi...
Vici...
Captain chessplaya
 
Posts: 1875
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:46 pm


Return to Conquer Club Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users