Conquer Club

Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Talk about all things related to Conquer Club

Moderator: Community Team

Forum rules
Please read the community guidelines before posting.

Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby PennyWorth on Wed May 02, 2012 12:29 pm

I just completed a turn where I attacked and won multiple territories. I expected to get a spoil. I got none. However, near the end of my turn, I was interrupted by a phone call. When I returned to click the "end reinforcements", the timer was at zero, and I got no card. Is this the way it's supposed to be? Or is this a bug?
Corporal 1st Class PennyWorth
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:25 pm

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby Swifte on Wed May 02, 2012 1:09 pm

If time expires on your turn before you hit End Reinforcements, you will not get a card, even if you captured a territory. You have to complete your turn in the time limit in order to collect your card.
User avatar
Colonel Swifte
 
Posts: 2474
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:05 pm
Location: usually Mahgreb
3

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby SirSebstar on Wed May 02, 2012 2:42 pm

it is a valid tactic for nuclear spoils if you really really don't want that 5th spoil. run out on time, do not fort and therefor do not get a spoil
Image
User avatar
Major SirSebstar
 
Posts: 6969
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:51 am
Location: SirSebstar is BACK. Highscore: Colonel Score: 2919 21/03/2011

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby perchorin on Wed May 02, 2012 11:37 pm

SirSebstar wrote:it is a valid tactic for nuclear spoils if you really really don't want that 5th spoil. run out on time, do not fort and therefor do not get a spoil

I think you've confused 'valid' with 'cheap' there Sir Seb ;)
Image
Silvanus wrote:perch is a North Korean agent to infiltrate south Korean girls
User avatar
Major perchorin
 
Posts: 1859
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:19 am
Location: Busan, South Korea

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby greenoaks on Thu May 03, 2012 12:41 am

perchorin wrote:
SirSebstar wrote:it is a valid tactic for nuclear spoils if you really really don't want that 5th spoil. run out on time, do not fort and therefor do not get a spoil

I think you've confused 'valid' with 'cheap' there Sir Seb ;)

that's right.

i recently lost a game on All Your Base Are Belong To Us because i wasn't prepared to use that tactic and already had a red set that included my base. unfortunate the 5th card didn't give me a mixed set and i nuked myself out of the game with 4 times the troops of the other player
User avatar
Sergeant greenoaks
 
Posts: 9977
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:47 am

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby TheJonah on Thu May 03, 2012 5:30 am

greenoaks wrote:
perchorin wrote:
SirSebstar wrote:it is a valid tactic for nuclear spoils if you really really don't want that 5th spoil. run out on time, do not fort and therefor do not get a spoil

I think you've confused 'valid' with 'cheap' there Sir Seb ;)

that's right.

i recently lost a game on All Your Base Are Belong To Us because i wasn't prepared to use that tactic and already had a red set that included my base. unfortunate the 5th card didn't give me a mixed set and i nuked myself out of the game with 4 times the troops of the other player


Showing a touch of class there greenoaks =D> =D> =D> =D> =D> =D> =D> =D> =D> =D> =D>
User avatar
Captain TheJonah
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:36 am
Location: Wondering why dukehazzard likes being a cunt!

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby blainelee on Fri May 04, 2012 12:59 am

Never met that problem before.
New Recruit blainelee
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 12:58 am

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby chapcrap on Fri May 04, 2012 2:15 am

blainelee wrote:Never met that problem before.

Could that be because you've never played in a game?
Lieutenant chapcrap
 
Posts: 9686
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 12:46 am
Location: Kansas City

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby Lindax on Fri May 04, 2012 10:37 am

perchorin wrote:
SirSebstar wrote:it is a valid tactic for nuclear spoils if you really really don't want that 5th spoil. run out on time, do not fort and therefor do not get a spoil

I think you've confused 'valid' with 'cheap' there Sir Seb ;)


Indeed!

Lx
"Winning Solves Everything" - Graeko
User avatar
Major Lindax
Tournament Director
Tournament Director
 
Posts: 11174
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: Paradise Rediscovered

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby ender516 on Fri May 04, 2012 12:21 pm

I don't like the idea of deliberately not taking a spoil, but I can understand it when you will be nuking yourself into a losing condition when otherwise you are still a real force in the game.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class ender516
 
Posts: 4455
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:07 pm
Location: Waterloo, Ontario

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby agentcom on Fri May 04, 2012 6:24 pm

This is one of my pet peeves about the site. I think the card should be awarded at the end of the turn whether you press a button or not. The fact that it is not set up this way lends definite credence to the idea that running out of time on nuke spoils is a legitimate tactic. There's a suggestion for this to be changed floating out there somewhere, I believe. Go lend your support to it.
User avatar
Colonel agentcom
 
Posts: 3994
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:50 pm

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby Forza AZ on Sat May 05, 2012 4:52 am

No handing out a spoil is there because it will make people end their turn. Otherwise people might just not end their turn because they get a spoil anyway, and so other players have to wait longer.
However it indeed backfires when people don't want a spoil, in case of Nuclear or when they are about to be taken out in a team game and want to prevent the opponent to get another set when they make the kill.
Highest score: 3130 (9 July 2009)
User avatar
Colonel Forza AZ
 
Posts: 4546
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:27 am
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby ender516 on Sat May 05, 2012 3:35 pm

Well, then, the solution would be to handle the awarding of nuclear spoils differently than the others. For nuclear spoils, you get it whether you end your turn or not, and for other types, you only get it if you end your turn. There should be no reward for wasting the time of people waiting to play.
User avatar
Sergeant 1st Class ender516
 
Posts: 4455
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:07 pm
Location: Waterloo, Ontario

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby SirSebstar on Sun May 06, 2012 2:32 pm

ender516 wrote:Well, then, the solution would be to handle the awarding of nuclear spoils differently than the others. For nuclear spoils, you get it whether you end your turn or not, and for other types, you only get it if you end your turn. There should be no reward for wasting the time of people waiting to play.

or conversly, add a bottun to end your turn without getting a spoil
Image
User avatar
Major SirSebstar
 
Posts: 6969
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:51 am
Location: SirSebstar is BACK. Highscore: Colonel Score: 2919 21/03/2011

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby Lindax on Sun May 06, 2012 3:19 pm

SirSebstar wrote:
ender516 wrote:Well, then, the solution would be to handle the awarding of nuclear spoils differently than the others. For nuclear spoils, you get it whether you end your turn or not, and for other types, you only get it if you end your turn. There should be no reward for wasting the time of people waiting to play.

or conversly, add a bottun to end your turn without getting a spoil


:lol: Do you have no shame Sir?

Lx
"Winning Solves Everything" - Graeko
User avatar
Major Lindax
Tournament Director
Tournament Director
 
Posts: 11174
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: Paradise Rediscovered

Re: Do You Lose Spoils or is this a bug?

Postby SirSebstar on Sun May 06, 2012 3:24 pm

being the founder of GeNnY, still leading the leaderboard within said holy foundation, i think i have played nuclear to its potential, and denying me the freedom to pick my fights would be a collosal mistake.
Image
User avatar
Major SirSebstar
 
Posts: 6969
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:51 am
Location: SirSebstar is BACK. Highscore: Colonel Score: 2919 21/03/2011


Return to Conquer Club Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users