1756158137
1756158137 Conquer Club • View topic - Fortifications for beginners
Conquer Club

Fortifications for beginners

Talk about all things related to Conquer Club

Moderator: Community Team

Forum rules
Please read the community guidelines before posting.

Fortifications for beginners

Postby Songsting on Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:57 pm

I have just started playing here, absolutely love it, but I can't yet understand fortifications. I have tried to search for the info, but no luck.

What is the difference between the various types of fortifications? It seems that unlimited isn't actually without limits... and what does adjacent/chained mean?

Are there any circumstances when you can fortify more than once in the same round, i.e. from A to B, and ALSO from C to D in the same round?

Is there somewhere that explains all this in detail that I have missed?

Thanks very much for any pointers.
Lieutenant Songsting
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:25 am

Postby St John on Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:14 pm

You'll find the info you need here:

http://www.conquerclub.com/public.php?p ... tructions3
Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more. Or close the wall up with our English dead!
User avatar
Lieutenant St John
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 4:02 am
Location: OR

Postby Rahm Es Hestos on Sun Mar 04, 2007 7:16 pm

alright here is the basic rules for fortifications:

Unlimited: You can fort as many times as u want from any of the areas on the map that u own which connect to each other by territories u own.

Adjacent: You may only fort once to a territory that is directly linked to the territory u want to fort from.

Chained: You may only fort once to any of the territories u own which are connected by places u own.
Major Rahm Es Hestos
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 1:07 am
Location: Delaware

Postby s.xkitten on Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:00 pm

one other thing...when you are playing doubles or triples, you can fortify to your partner(s) also
User avatar
Sergeant s.xkitten
 
Posts: 6911
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: I dunno

Postby Songsting on Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:07 am

Thank you very much, most appreciated.
Lieutenant Songsting
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:25 am

Postby tahitiwahini on Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:56 am

s.xkitten wrote:one other thing...when you are playing doubles or triples, you can fortify to your partner(s) also


I haven't played doubles enough to know the answer to this by experience, but I seem to remember going first in a doubles game and trying to fortify my partner (before he had taken his first turn) and was not able to do so. I'm pretty sure there were no "chaining issues," because I was trying to fortify from my country to an adjacent country owned by my partner. It was "unlimited fortification."

So my first questions is this: are there special rules regarding fortification on the first turn?

Here's another question regarding doubles play: how does the "chaining rule" work in doubles? When you are figuring out if you have a chain of ownership from the source country to the destination, can you use countries owned by you or your parner(s) without restriction to establish that ownership chain.

Here are some examples that illustrate the issue I'm trying to understand:

Key:
Country (owned by)
A --> B indicates country A is adjacent to country B

Is fortification legal in these circumstances?

A (owned by me) --> B (owned by me): Yes (obviously)

A (me) --> B (partner): Yes (obviously)

A (me) --> B (me) --> C (partner): Yes (I think)

A (me) --> B (me) --> C (partner) --> D (partner): Yes (I think)

A (me) --> B (partner) --> C (partner): Yes (I think)

A (me) --> B (partner) --> C (me): No (I think)

So is the rule the following:

You may fortify through as many countries you own until you reach a country owned by your partner, and then from there you can fortifiy through as many countries as your partner owns, but you must end in a country owned by your partner.

Is the above a true statement? Anyone know the answer to this?

Does this rule also apply to triples?
Cheers,
Tahitiwahini
User avatar
Private 1st Class tahitiwahini
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:26 pm

Postby St John on Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:12 am

tahitiwahini wrote:I seem to remember going first in a doubles game and trying to fortify my partner (before he had taken his first turn) and was not able to do so. I'm pretty sure there were no "chaining issues," because I was trying to fortify from my country to an adjacent country owned by my partner. It was "unlimited fortification."

So my first questions is this: are there special rules regarding fortification on the first turn?



Not to my knowledge. I have forted my team mate on first turn no problem.
Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more. Or close the wall up with our English dead!
User avatar
Lieutenant St John
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 4:02 am
Location: OR

Postby rluzinski on Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:20 am

I've noticed that the good doubles/triples players always lend out armies to their teamates, only to have them to return the favor on their turn. You basically get to use the same army pieces 2 or three times a round. It devastates the newbies.
User avatar
Captain rluzinski
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 12:03 pm
Location: Green Bay, WI

Postby tahitiwahini on Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:26 am

St John wrote:Not to my knowledge. I have forted my team mate on first turn no problem.


Thanks I'll have to try it again, but I suspect you're right.

Any thoughts about the second question?
Cheers,
Tahitiwahini
User avatar
Private 1st Class tahitiwahini
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:26 pm

Postby corner G on Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:48 am

for teams, you can fortafy unlimated to your countreys, but only one countrey into your partner...

(me)--------> (partner) OK

(me)--------> (me) ------------> (partner) OK

(me)--------> (partner) ----------> (me) not ok

(me)-------> (partner) --------> (partner) not ok

hope you understand,
Cynthia wrote:
Hitman079 wrote:i wonder when I'LL get quoted *sniffle* :cry:


same here :cry:
User avatar
Corporal corner G
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 4:09 pm

Postby tahitiwahini on Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:32 pm

corner G wrote:for teams, you can fortafy unlimated to your countreys, but only one countrey into your partner...


Makes sense. Thank you for the response.
Cheers,
Tahitiwahini
User avatar
Private 1st Class tahitiwahini
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 5:26 pm


Return to Conquer Club Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users