Page 1 of 1
Why can't you play a card set when you eliminate a player?

Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:05 pm
by Yanksnut15
You used to be able to do this. I was expecting to be able to deploy my set so I did not advance and it cost me knocking out another player and possibly winning.

Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:09 pm
by richardgarr
You must have 5 cards or more in your hand as a result of the elimination. Anything less then 5 and you cannot cash mid turn.

Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:11 pm
by Yanksnut15
I have 5 in my hand. That is why I wanted to cash them in. Now the person I would have eliminated just used his cards to ruin my territories. OH well.

Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:11 pm
by NESconqueror
richardgarr wrote:You must have 5 cards or more in your hand as a result of the elimination. Anything less then 5 and you cannot cash mid turn.
That was done to balance things out even more... I am not worrying about that.

Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:14 pm
by AndyDufresne
Looking at your active games, it doesn't appear you had 5 cards mid-term, but at the end of the turn you had 5 cards. What game number specifically?
--Andy

Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:28 pm
by Genghis Khan CA
Yes, if you are talking about 1457952, you currently have 5 cards. Since you get 1 at the end of your turn, you must have had only 4 when you eliminated the player.


Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:30 pm
by Risktaker17
You need 5 at the point of elimination.

Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:12 pm
by Twill
Moved to Q&A...because it's a question
And I'm pretty sure we didn't change it for balancing reasons NES...or at least I missed that announcement if we did...
Twill

Posted:
Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:58 am
by Yanksnut15
So why was it changed?

Posted:
Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:01 am
by Skittles!
Yanksnut15 wrote:So why was it changed?
.. It wasn't changed. You had
4 [four] cards in mid-turn, and at the end you had
5 [five] cards.

Posted:
Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:06 am
by Yanksnut15
I understand that is the case now. In past games, this was not necessary. When was the feature changed?

Posted:
Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:08 am
by Skittles!
It has always been necessary. It was never changed. It has always been 5 cards and over.

Posted:
Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:13 am
by Dekloren
I remember being able to cash in a set when I eliminated a player and did not have 5 cards mid turn.

Posted:
Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:17 pm
by sully800
Dekloren wrote:I remember being able to cash in a set when I eliminated a player and did not have 5 cards mid turn.
If it was on CC, you must have had 5 cards mid turn. That rule has never been changed.
However once you cash one set you can cash any other sets you may also be holding even if you no longer have 5 cards after the first cash. Its a rule that has never made sense to me, but its also been true since the start of CC.

Posted:
Thu Jan 03, 2008 2:07 am
by -ShadySoul-
sully800 wrote:Dekloren wrote:I remember being able to cash in a set when I eliminated a player and did not have 5 cards mid turn.
If it was on CC, you must have had 5 cards mid turn. That rule has never been changed.
However once you cash one set you can cash any other sets you may also be holding even if you no longer have 5 cards after the first cash. Its a rule that has never made sense to me, but its also been true since the start of CC
Dammit i wanted to say that!