Page 1 of 1

"cashing in" in the middle of the attack phase.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:07 pm
by ey51
hello,
what are the rules for cashing in whilst being in the attack phase of my turn.

when i eliminate the last territory of an opponent, i get his cards. when my combined cards is over 5 it automatically lets me cash some in.

What if they are not over 5 cards, but i can still cash some of them in to be used while still being in the attack phase?

Is that possible to do? If so how?

Fast help will be much appreciated, since I am now in the middle of my turn.
Cheers!

(I also asked this in the Q&A forum. I just thought it wasn't getting much exposure there, and I'm in a rush for a reply. Sorry for the dup. Please forgive me.)

Re: "cashing in" in the middle of the attack phase

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:09 pm
by Gilligan
ey51 wrote:hello,
what are the rules for cashing in whilst being in the attack phase of my turn.

when i eliminate the last territory of an opponent, i get his cards. when my combined cards is over 5 it automatically lets me cash some in.

What if they are not over 5 cards, but i can still cash some of them in to be used while still being in the attack phase?

Is that possible to do? If so how?

Fast help will be much appreciated, since I am now in the middle of my turn.
Cheers!

(I also asked this in the Q&A forum. I just thought it wasn't getting much exposure there, and I'm in a rush for a reply. Sorry for the dup. Please forgive me.)


You can only cash in mid-turn if you have 5 cards or more. If you have a set with 3 or 4, you can't cash.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:09 pm
by CrabNebula
No you cannot. Which means if you have less than 5 cards, you will not be allowed to cash even if you have a set in it.

Re: "cashing in" in the middle of the attack phase

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:10 pm
by ey51
Gilligan wrote:
ey51 wrote:hello,
what are the rules for cashing in whilst being in the attack phase of my turn.

when i eliminate the last territory of an opponent, i get his cards. when my combined cards is over 5 it automatically lets me cash some in.

What if they are not over 5 cards, but i can still cash some of them in to be used while still being in the attack phase?

Is that possible to do? If so how?

Fast help will be much appreciated, since I am now in the middle of my turn.
Cheers!

(I also asked this in the Q&A forum. I just thought it wasn't getting much exposure there, and I'm in a rush for a reply. Sorry for the dup. Please forgive me.)


You can only cash in mid-turn if you have 5 cards or more. If you have a set with 3 or 4, you can't cash.


thank you Gilligan for the quick reply.
edit: CrabNebula, thank you as well!

Re: "cashing in" in the middle of the attack phase

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:11 pm
by Gilligan
ey51 wrote:
Gilligan wrote:
ey51 wrote:hello,
what are the rules for cashing in whilst being in the attack phase of my turn.

when i eliminate the last territory of an opponent, i get his cards. when my combined cards is over 5 it automatically lets me cash some in.

What if they are not over 5 cards, but i can still cash some of them in to be used while still being in the attack phase?

Is that possible to do? If so how?

Fast help will be much appreciated, since I am now in the middle of my turn.
Cheers!

(I also asked this in the Q&A forum. I just thought it wasn't getting much exposure there, and I'm in a rush for a reply. Sorry for the dup. Please forgive me.)


You can only cash in mid-turn if you have 5 cards or more. If you have a set with 3 or 4, you can't cash.


thank you Gilligan for the quick reply.
edit: CrabNebula, thank you as well!


No problem. Any time :D

Re: "cashing in" in the middle of the attack phase

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:15 pm
by CrabNebula
Gilligan wrote:
ey51 wrote:
Gilligan wrote:
ey51 wrote:hello,
what are the rules for cashing in whilst being in the attack phase of my turn.

when i eliminate the last territory of an opponent, i get his cards. when my combined cards is over 5 it automatically lets me cash some in.

What if they are not over 5 cards, but i can still cash some of them in to be used while still being in the attack phase?

Is that possible to do? If so how?

Fast help will be much appreciated, since I am now in the middle of my turn.
Cheers!

(I also asked this in the Q&A forum. I just thought it wasn't getting much exposure there, and I'm in a rush for a reply. Sorry for the dup. Please forgive me.)


You can only cash in mid-turn if you have 5 cards or more. If you have a set with 3 or 4, you can't cash.


thank you Gilligan for the quick reply.
edit: CrabNebula, thank you as well!


No problem. Any time :D

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:19 pm
by Robinette
Footnote: When playing RISK (the board game) you can cash ANY and ALL sets after eliminating an opponent (5 cards are not required)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:28 pm
by Herakilla
and remember like robinette said, that rule is here too

if you elim some1 and get 5 or more cards total you can keep cashing in until you run out of sets, if you get a total of 6 cards and have 2 seperate sets you will be able to turn them both in, the second one is an option since you can choose later but you must turn in at least one

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:34 pm
by Robinette
Herakilla wrote:and remember like robinette said, that rule is here too

if you elim some1 and get 5 or more cards total you can keep cashing in until you run out of sets, if you get a total of 6 cards and have 2 seperate sets you will be able to turn them both in, the second one is an option since you can choose later but you must turn in at least one


The big difference with CC is that if you eliminate someone and then have 3 or 4 cards that make a set you CANNOT cash-in mid-turn...

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:58 pm
by riskfreak
Hmmmm, i kinda remember a recent game which did allow me to play two sets at once. It seemed weird because i only had 0 or 1 cards left after the second cash in.

ill check the log to see if that did indeed occur.


-rf

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:23 pm
by Robinette
riskfreak wrote:Hmmmm, i kinda remember a recent game which did allow me to play two sets at once. It seemed weird because i only had 0 or 1 cards left after the second cash in.

ill check the log to see if that did indeed occur.


-rf


yes, you CAN do this...

let me make this as clear as i can...

At CC you need 5+ cards to be able to cash mid turn... you have to cash down to no more than 4 cards, but you can cash ALL the sets you have, even if that takes you down to ZERO cards.

In RISK you can cash ANY set mid-turn even if you only have 3 or 4 cards (as long as they make a set)... the rest is the same: you have to cash down to no more than 4 cards, but you can cash ALL the sets you have, even if that takes you down to ZERO cards.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:30 pm
by ey51
Robinette wrote:
riskfreak wrote:Hmmmm, i kinda remember a recent game which did allow me to play two sets at once. It seemed weird because i only had 0 or 1 cards left after the second cash in.

ill check the log to see if that did indeed occur.


-rf


yes, you CAN do this...

let me make this as clear as i can...

At CC you need 5+ cards to be able to cash mid turn... you have to cash down to no more than 4 cards, but you can cash ALL the sets you have, even if that takes you down to ZERO cards.

In RISK you can cash ANY set mid-turn even if you only have 3 or 4 cards (as long as they make a set)... the rest is the same: you have to cash down to no more than 4 cards, but you can cash ALL the sets you have, even if that takes you down to ZERO cards.


i wonder whether this was intentionally or accidentally changed in CC..

plus
maybe this should go into the instructions, as it is currently missing. it's not a lot to add, and it is pretty vital information that may change the way you plan your moves.
how do we bring this up to the admins?

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:42 pm
by AAFitz
well since lack doesnt actually know how to play Risk, it was probably accidental

The original version would be a fun option though...completely changes escalating games

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:48 pm
by cdnfireman
I got burned a few times with that CC rule when I first joined, I would have 5 cards, cash in knowing I can eliminate another player with 2 cards. Well I had cashed in 3, that leaves me with 2, eliminate player, gain 2 to give me 4 and another posible cash in. Wow I have another 10 cash in, wrongoooo, dooohhhhhh, WTF I cant cash in???? I quickly learned how it works here #-o

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:42 pm
by Robinette
AAFitz wrote:well since lack doesnt actually know how to play Risk, it was probably accidental

The original version would be a fun option though...completely changes escalating games


It really would be a fun option...

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:58 pm
by BaldAdonis
Robinette wrote:Footnote: When playing RISK (the board game) you can cash ANY and ALL sets after eliminating an opponent (5 cards are not required)

Which rule set is that? The one I have says you can cash only if you have 5 or more, and you have to stop when you get below 5. That's the relatively new Risk, circa 1989. Always interesting to see how the game changes. Have you seen the really new board? There's no line between East Africa and Middle East! Really changes it, until you get mad and draw one in.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 5:36 pm
by Robinette
BaldAdonis wrote:
Robinette wrote:Footnote: When playing RISK (the board game) you can cash ANY and ALL sets after eliminating an opponent (5 cards are not required)

Which rule set is that? The one I have says you can cash only if you have 5 or more, and you have to stop when you get below 5. That's the relatively new Risk, circa 1989. Always interesting to see how the game changes. Have you seen the really new board? There's no line between East Africa and Middle East! Really changes it, until you get mad and draw one in.


It's quite clear in the rules from 1959 & 1963 that you can cash ANY and ALL sets after eliminating an opponent... of course you would need at least 3 cards to cash...

the 1975, 1980 & 1990 rule was changed that cashing mid turn can ONLY be done when you have 6 or more cards, and then you can cash as many as you like...

in 1993 & 1999 the rule was added that as soon as you cashed down to less than 5 cards you could not cash any more that turn.

Interestingly enough, this allowed for having 6 cards at the end of your turn (stuck with 5 & can't cash, then get a card at the end of your turn.. 5+1=6)

We had a 1963 game we got at a garage sale that we learned on, so the original rules are what i am used to... it was funny because our parents bought us a new board, but we never used it because we preferred stacking the little wooden blocks that came with the old game... then one day we got a game going with some folks who had only known the '90's version, i went for a chain reaction win... cashing all the way, and they cried foul... but the rule book proved me right that day, so the chain reaction continued... hee hee :twisted: