s.xkitten wrote:one other thing...when you are playing doubles or triples, you can fortify to your partner(s) also
I haven't played doubles enough to know the answer to this by experience, but I seem to remember going first in a doubles game and trying to fortify my partner (before he had taken his first turn) and was not able to do so. I'm pretty sure there were no "chaining issues," because I was trying to fortify from my country to an adjacent country owned by my partner. It was "unlimited fortification."
So my first questions is this: are there special rules regarding fortification on the first turn?
Here's another question regarding doubles play: how does the "chaining rule" work in doubles? When you are figuring out if you have a chain of ownership from the source country to the destination, can you use countries owned by you or your parner(s) without restriction to establish that ownership chain.
Here are some examples that illustrate the issue I'm trying to understand:
Key:
Country (owned by)
A --> B indicates country A is adjacent to country B
Is fortification legal in these circumstances?
A (owned by me) --> B (owned by me): Yes (obviously)
A (me) --> B (partner): Yes (obviously)
A (me) --> B (me) --> C (partner): Yes (I think)
A (me) --> B (me) --> C (partner) --> D (partner): Yes (I think)
A (me) --> B (partner) --> C (partner): Yes (I think)
A (me) --> B (partner) --> C (me): No (I think)
So is the rule the following:
You may fortify through as many countries you own until you reach a country owned by your partner, and then from there you can fortifiy through as many countries as your partner owns, but you must end in a country owned by your partner.
Is the above a true statement? Anyone know the answer to this?
Does this rule also apply to triples?