Cards of countries you own...

According to the instructions, I should get bonus armies on countries that I own which I also have a card of every turn. However this does not seem to be the case...nor does it appear to be the case if I own the continent of which the country is part off.
Now, if I trade in a set of cards it sometimes kick starts the adding of the bonus armies, sometimes it does not.
Am I missing something? Feel free to laugh at me if I am being stupid and misunderstanding the game rules.
Now, if I trade in a set of cards it sometimes kick starts the adding of the bonus armies, sometimes it does not.
Am I missing something? Feel free to laugh at me if I am being stupid and misunderstanding the game rules.
